Prize for Innovation

The 2022 Prize for Innovation Competition is now closed. This competition will run again in 2023.

The MTU Prize for Innovation is an annual competition. The competition awards cash prizes to those whose inventions and business ideas are judged most creative, novel, innovative, and likely to succeed in the marketplace. The competition is open to all departments within the Institute.

Tulipa, were the overall winners of the MTU Prize for Innovation 2022 and as such were awarded 'The MTU Entrepreneurs of the Year Award' worth €4,000, alongside an additional award worth €500 for the 'Best Presentation Stand'. Tulipa is a medical device that aims to restore comfort, reduce fear, and increase the attendance of women at vital cervical check exams.

The total prize fund was worth €14,000, with sponsorship from industry partner ESI Technologies Group, Local Enterprise Office Cork City, Local Enterprise Office South Cork, Local Enterprise Office North and West Cork and Kerry Local Enterprise Office.

The winning team consisted of Joshua Manaid, Mary Bridget O'Riordan, Joshua Finbarr O'Reilly, Seán Donal O'Shea, Daineadh Power, Ali Rezk, Andy Thomas Leahy, James Michael O'Hanlon and Eoin McGrath.



Prize Categories:

MTU Entrepreneur of the Year €4,000

Best Business Opportunity €1,500

Best Concept €1,500

President’s Award €1,000

Best Pitch €500 (Each Campus) 

Best Design Award (€500)

Best Promotion of Pitch €500 

Best Exhibition Stand €500 (Each Campus) 

Best Prototype Award €500 

Social Entrepreneurship Award €500

Most Positive Environmental Impact €1,000


Prize for Innovation Finalists 2022:

Prize for Innovation 2020 Winner:

SightScan won the overall title of MTU Entrepreneurs of the Year 2020 as well as scooping  the top prize of €4,000. SightScan is a device to reduce the failure rate (currently at 33%) of eye surgery for strabismus (cross-eyed). The group is made up of Mechanical, Biomedical and Accounting students.



Prize for Innovation 2019 Winner:

TUNIC was the overall winner of the Prize for Innovation Award 2019 and as such was awarded 'The MTU Entrepreneur of the Year Award' worth €4,000. This product focuses on the breakdown of the biopolymer Chitin for the medical industry in a more efficient and cost effective way. 


Picture: Patrick McGarvey by photographer Darragh Kan


Prize for Innovation 2018 winners:

Picture L to R: Alice Brislane, Darren O’Sullivan, Niamh Savage, Jason Hawthorne, Darren Cremin, David Noonan, Dajana Black, Shane Guerin & Conor Cremin.The winners Safely Snooze came up with an idea for Sleep Paralysis. The idea for the device is to help improve the lives of those who suffer from sleep paralysis. The device wakes the person up from an episode of sleep paralysis which will reduce the negative effects of sleep deprivation by breaking the cycle of sleep paralysis.

Prize for Innovation winner 2017: Dialast

Front to back: Orla O'Donoghue, Kate O'Sullivan, Kiran Shaju, Denis Hegerty and Cathal O'Sullivan students from Biomedical Engineering & Mechanical Engineering winners of the Prize for Innovation 2017. The students project - Dialast is a unique device created for diabetics, for delivery of insulin.

Prize for Innovation winner 2016: Vincent Forde

Vincent Ford, a Third Year Mechanical Engineering Student and participant in CIT's Student Inc. Summer 2015. Vincent won the Prize for innovation and title of CIT Entrepreneur of the Year at the 2015. Vincent’s project was to improve patient safety in the clinical environment.

Prize for Innovation winner 2015: Cara Tremayne

Cara Tremayne, accepting the Prize for Innovation product, a Roll Out Vegetable patch has picked up a €4,000 prize and the title of CIT Entrepreneur of the Year at the 2015 prize for innovation.


© 2022 CIT | web development by Granite Digital